DIII No. 1 Springfield Falls to DI No. 12 IPFW


< back

Springfield, Mass. - The Springfield College men's volleyball team used a spirited effort but fell at the hands of Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne (IPFW) in three games in the first game of the 21st annual Volleyball Hall of Fame Morgan Classic on Saturday evening. The Pride fell by the scores of 30-27, 30-27, 30-27.

AJ Nally led the way for the Pride with 13 kills and 13 digs to go along with a trio of blocks. Ryan Fredrickson added nine kills, seven digs, and three blocks, while teammate Cal Palumbo registered seven kills at a .429 clip to go with three blocks.

IPFW was paced by a trio of players in double digit kills led by Jason Yhost's game-high 17 kills. C.J. Macias chipped in with 16 kills and 11 digs, while Josh Stewart recorded 10 kills and five blocks out of the middle.

The All-Tournament team for the Hall of Fame classic consisted of Fredrickson of Springfield, Macias of IPFW, Bates and Kyle Gramit of George Mason, and Murphy Troy, Jimmy Killian, and Juan Figueroa of USC. Eric Shoemaker from Springfield was presented with the Sportsmanship Award, while Macias earned the spiking contest crown and USC's Riley McKibbin the serving contest. The Most Outstanding Player was Figueroa.

Springfield returns to action on Friday evening (Feb. 29) when it travels to take on the NYU Violets at 7:00 pm.

Article courtesy of Springfield athletics.

< back