Sunday, April 22, 2007


< back

Husker duo best Stanford team in the finals.

4/22/2007 -SAN DIEGO - Earlier today from Crown Point Park, Mission Bay in San Diego, Sarah Pavan and Jordan Larson from University of Nebraska won the POWERADE Collegiate Beach Volleyball Championship. Pavan and Larson defeated Cynthia Barboza and Bryn Kehoe from Stanford University in a very tight three-set match, 19-21, 23-21, 18-16, to take the title.

This is the second time this season these two teams have faced off against one another in a women's volleyball championship. Earlier this season, Nebraska defeated Stanford at the NCAA Division I Women's Indoor Volleyball Championship.

"We are both extremely competitive," stated Pavan. "So, when the opportunity presented itself to come out here and compete against some of the best indoor players, we jumped on it. We love to compete and we definitely thought that this event was worth it."

CSTV in partnership with the AVCA hosted the POWERADE Collegiate Beach Volleyball Championships, featuring the nation's top women's collegiate volleyball players, as part of the second annual CSTV Collegiate Nationals. The beach volleyball championships will air on CSTV as part of the Collegiate Nationals programming beginning Saturday, May 12 at 9:00 pm ET, with three consecutive shows scheduled for Friday, May 18 - Sunday, May 20 at 9 pm ET. The broadcasts will feature expert analysis from AVP all-star and Olympic Bronze Medalist Holly McPeak and play-by-play voice Chris McGee.

The POWERADE Collegiate Beach Volleyball Championship featured eight, two-person teams selected from top Universities, and included some of the nation's outstanding individual players and elite programs. The teams squared off in a round robin tournament. The complete list of teams, players and results are below:

#1 Nebraska - Sarah Pavan (All-American and AVCA Player of the Year) / Jordan Larson (All-American)
#2 Stanford - Cynthia Barboza (All-American) / Bryn Kehoe (All-American)
#3 Penn State - Nicole Fawcett (All-American) / Roberta Holehouse
#4 Minnesota - Jessy Jones / Rachel Hartmann
#5 Texas - Ashley Engle (All-American) / Alyson Jennings
#6 Florida - Angie McGinnis (All-American) / Marcie Hampton
#7 San Diego - Jaimarie Sutherland / Andrea Csaszi
#8 Cal Poly - Kylie Atherstone / Chelsea Hayes

Final Round Results
(Sunday, April 22, 2007)

Stanford defeated Cal Poly, 21-16, 21-12 (34 minutes)
Nebraska defeated San Diego, 23-21, 21-16 (36 minutes)

Championship match
Nebraska defeated Stanford, 19-21, 23-21, 18-16 (57 minutes)

For all the detailed results and pictures from the POWERADE Collegiate Beach Volleyball Championships, log on to

< back