Team Rosters Announcd for Collegiate Beach Volleyball Championship


< back


CBS College Sports Network, the American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) and AVP Pro Beach Volleyball, today announced the rosters for the eight teams competing in the 2009 Collegiate Beach Volleyball Championship. The championship will be held in downtown Riverside, Calif. on Saturday, April 18, in conjunction with the AVP Crocs Tour Riverside Open.   The Championship is part of the fourth annual Alt Games, a first-of-its kind event showcasing college action sports championships. 


The elite roster of teams this year includes *No. 3-ranked University of Nebraska, *No. 4-ranked University of Texas, *No. 7-ranked University of Hawaii, *No. 13-ranked USC, *No. 16-ranked University of Utah, *No. 19-ranked University of San Diego, University of North Carolina and UC Riverside.  In addition, top players include: Sydney Anderson (Nebraska), Tara Mueller (Nebraska), Lori Baird (Utah) and Ashley Engle (Texas) among othersFull team rosters are included below.


The beach volleyball championship showcases the nation's top women's collegiate volleyball players in a team-style format with each school fielding four teams of two players.  Following the conclusion of the event, one school will be awarded the overall Championship.  The pool play sessions on Saturday, April 18 from 8:30 AM - 2:00 PM, PST are free to the public. The semifinals and finals will be played at Stadium Court from 3:00 - 6:00 PM, PST


Extensive television coverage of the Alt Games and beach volleyball championship kicks-off with a special one-hour program airing on CBS Sports on Saturday, May 16 (2:00 PM, ET). The show launches three weeks of Olympic style and sports specific programming on CBS College Sports Network, which includes the return of the Network's popular reality program "GO PRO OR GO HOME."


The Collegiate Beach Volleyball Championship will adhere strictly to NCAA guidelines for participation.  More than 500 competitors from 45 different colleges and universities nationwide are expected to compete at the 2009 Alt Games, which will ultimately crown 11 national men's and women's champions in both individual and team events.  For more information, visit


Media are invited to attend the Collegiate Beach Volleyball Championship.  For credentials, please email:


* Final 2008 Bison/AVCA Rankings


# # #




Official 2009 Collegiate Beach Volleyball Championship Team Rosters



Team 1 - Stephanie Brandt / Elizabeth Ka'aihue

Team 2 - Dani Mafua / Kanani Danielson

Team 3 - Amber Kaufman / Aneli Cubi-Otineru / Emily Maeda

Team 4 - Brittany Hewitt / Jayme Lee / Sarah Prather / Catherine Fowler



Team 1 - Sydney Anderson / Tara Mueller

Team 2 - Jordan Wilberger / Kaitlynn James

Team 3 - Brooke Delano / Kayla Banwarth

Team 4 - Hannah Werth / Megan Pendergast



Team 1: Stephanie Jansma / Christine Vaughen

Team 2: Heather Brooks / Suzanne Haydel

Team 3: Lauren Prussing / Kaylie Gibson

Team 4: Brianna Eskola / Ingrid Hanson-Tuntland / Erica Behm


Team 1 - Andrea Csaszi and Colleen Carlson

Team 2 - Ali Troost and Kayleen Webster

Team 3 - Ashton Basch and Torey Ellick

Team 4 - Jillian Wolpman, Sarah Schatzman and Kelsi Myers



Team 1 - Ashley Engle / Lauren Paolini

Team 2 - Kiley Hall / Heather Kisner

Team 3 - Juliann Faucette / Amber Roberson

Team 4 - Michelle Kocher / Sydney Yogi / Jen Doris



Team 1 - Brittney Murrey / Dominique Cowling

Team 2 - Kelly Simpson / Kelley Quinn

Team 3 - Katherine Castillo / Tonbara Youpele

Team 4 - Amanda Nilsson / Angela Pizzella



Team 1 - Lori Baird / Keisha Fisher

Team 2 - Kathryn Haynie / Chelsey Sandberg

Team 3 - Emillie Toone / Karolina Bartkowiak

Team 4 - Sarah Hibbert / Stephanie Shardlow



Team 1 - Jessica Gysin / Alex Jupiter

Team 2 - Zoe Garrett / Geena Urango

Team 3 - Kimmee Roleder / Alli Hillgren / Kati Cattaneo

Team 4 - Mychaela Miller / Paige Obradovich / Emilie Stewart


< back