UC Irvine Wins 2009 Men's Volleyball National Championship


< back

PROVO, Utah (May 9, 2009) -- For the second time in the past three years, the

University of California-Irvine won NCAA menʼs volleyball national championship. The

Anteaters defeated the Trojans of USC, 3-2, in the Smith Fieldhouse in Provo, Utah, on


UCI setter Ryan Ammerman led the team with a career-high 13 blocks and hit .667 in

his final game for the Anteaters. Murphy Troy had a game-high 26 kills, and Austin Zahn

hit a game-high .700.

USC had 22 service errors, to only 11 for UCI. The Anteaters hit .342 for the match, and

USC hit .296.

UCI also won the national championship in 2007. USC was vying for their fourth

national title and first since 1990.

In the first set, the two teams fought back and forth, and neither was able to take more

than a three-point lead until USC went up 25-22 on a kill by freshman outside hitter

Tony Ciarelli. The Trojans hung on for a 30-26 win, overcoming six service errors.

USCʼs Troy had seven kills in the set.

UC Irvine pulled away in the latter part of the second set, taking a seven-point lead, 22-

15, on a Kevin Wynne kill. The Anteaters hit .406 to only .238 for USC, and won the set

easily, 30-23. UCIʼs Taylor Wilson had five kills. The Trojans were unable to sustain any

momentum, and had 12 service errors in the set.

With the third set tied at just 1-1, USC went on a 4-0 run and didnʼt trail for the rest of

the set. The Anteaters would get within one point multiple times, but the Trojans stayed

strong, powering to a 30-26 victory to take a 2-1 lead in the match. Troy again powered

the Trojans with 10 kills, and the Anteatersʼ Wilson again led UCI with seven kills. USC

hit .386, while UCI hit .321.

UCI started the fourth set on a 6-3 run which prompted a quick USC timeout. The

Anteatersʼ run continued, and they expanded their lead to 11-5, and the run continued,

in spite of another USC timeout. The Anteaters had three different streaks of at least

four consecutive points, and won the set 30-17.

Neither team was able to pull away through the first 10 points of the fifth and final set.

The Anteaters went on a mini-run and were able to finish off USC, winning the final set

15-12 on a Jordan Dufault kill, to clinch the match and the title, 3-2.


2009 NCAA Menʼs Volleyball Championship All-Tournament Team

Player Position School

** Ryan Ammerman S UC Irvine

Taylor Wilson OH UC Irvine

Carson Clark OPP UC Irvine

Murphy Troy OPP USC

Austin Zahn MB USC

Riley McKibbin S USC

William Price OPP Penn State

** Most Outstanding Player

< back