NCAA Announces 2009 Division III Tournament Field


< back

INDIANAPOLIS --- The NCAA Division III Women's Volleyball Committee announced today the field of 62 teams for the 2009 NCAA Division III Women's Volleyball Championship.

Forty conferences were awarded automatic qualification for the 2009 championship.  Three teams were selected from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions and institutions that are members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification. The final 19 berths were reserved for Pool C, which consists of institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not the conference champion and any remaining Pool B teams.


Conferences and Teams Receiving Automatic Qualification:
Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference: Frostburg State
American Southwest Conference: Texas-Dallas
Capital Athletic Conference: Salisbury
Centennial Conference: Haverford
City University of New York Athletic Conference: CCNY
College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin: Carthage
Colonial States Athletic Conference: Cabrini
Commonwealth Coast Conference: Roger Williams
Commonwealth Conference: Lebanon Valley
Empire 8: Stevens Institute of Technology
Freedom Conference: Eastern
Great Northeast Athletic Conference: Emerson
Great South Athletic Conference: Maryville (Tennessee)
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference: Bluffton
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference: Simpson
Landmark Conference: Juniata
Little East Conference: Massachusetts-Boston
Massachusetts State College Athletic Conference: Westfield State
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association: Calvin
Midwest Conference: St. Norbert
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference: St. Benedict
New England Small College Athletic Conference: Williams
New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference: Wellesley
New Jersey Athletic Conference: Richard Stockton
North Atlantic Conference: Maine Maritime
North Coast Athletic Conference: Wittenberg
North Eastern Athletic Conference: Dallas
Northern Athletics Conference: Lakeland
Northwest Conference: Pacific Lutheran
Ohio Athletic Conference: Heidelberg
Old Dominion Athletic Conference: Randolph-Macon
Presidents' Athletic Conference: Thomas More
Skyline Conference: Polytechnic (New York)
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference: Redlands
Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference: Southwestern (Texas)
St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference: Webster
State University of New York Athletic Conference: New Paltz State
USA South Athletic Conference: Christopher Newport
University Athletic Association: Emory
Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Association: Wisconsin-Whitewater

Pool B Berths (3):
Nebraska Wesleyan

Pool C Berths (19):
Cal Lutheran
Colorado College
La Verne
Mount Union
New York University
North Central (Illinois)
Ohio Northern
Puget Sound
St. Mary's (Minnesota)
St. Olaf
St. Thomas (Minnesota)
Trinity (Texas)
Washington U. in St. Louis
Wisconsin-Eau Claire

In last year's finals, Emory defeated La Verne by a score of 3-1 to capture its first national women's volleyball title.


Article courtesy of the NCAA.

< back