2008 AVCA Two-Year Colleges National Player of the Year


< back

Kayla Schmidt - Blinn College

2008 AVCA Two-Year College National Player of the Year

LEXINGTON, Ky. - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is pleased to announce Blinn College sophomore setter Kayla Schmidt as its 2008 Two-Year Colleges National Player of the Year.


Schmidt, the first Blinn player to receive this award, helped guide the Buccaneers to a 33-2 record this season and their first-ever NJCAA Division I National Championship.  The Bellville, Texas native ranked third nationally in assists per set, averaging 11.69 helpers, while also adding 1.51 digs and 1.21 kills per set to her credits. In addition, the 5'10 leader of the Buccaneer offense keyed Blinn's attack arsenal to a .375 hitting percentage for the season.


Blinn entered the NJCAA Division I Tournament as the No. 4 seed and strung together a 4-0 record during the event, including a dramatic 3-2 come from behind victory over Arkansas-Fort Smith in the final, to capture the coveted title. Schmidt, who racked up 65 assists and totaled 19 digs in the championship match, was named the tournament's Most Valuable Player, in addition to earning AVCA Two-Year Colleges First-Team All-America accolades at the season's conclusion.


The formal presentation of the 2008 AVCA Two Year Colleges National Player of the Year will be made Dec. 19 in Omaha, Neb. at the AVCA All-America/Players of the Year Banquet. The banquet, which will take place at the Qwest Convention Center, is held in conjunction with the 2008 AVCA Annual Convention and NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball National Championships.


Nfinity/AVCA Two-Year Colleges National Players of the Year
2008: Kayla Schmidt (Blinn)
2007: Soriana Pacheco (Western Nebraska)
2006: Juliana Paz (Iowa Western)
2005: JoAnna Kaczor (Southern Idaho)
2004: Keila Oliviera (Miami-Dade)
2003: Nevena Siljegovic (Moorpark)
2002: Madelaynne Montano (Miami-Dade)
2001: Juliana Escobar (Barton County)
2000: Stephanie Martin (Southern Idaho)
1999: Fabiana Spisso de Abreu (Southern Idaho)
1998: Fabiana Spisso de Abreu (Southern Idaho)
1997: Hai Yan (Southern Idaho)
1996: Jenni Roselli (Spokane Falls)
1995: Paula Araujo (Southern Idaho)
1994: Katianne Simonetti (Southern Idaho)
1993: Jessica Lee (Golden West)
1992: Pele Baker (Eastern Arizona)
1991: Hilda Gaxiola (Texas Southmost)
1990: Sandra Pena (Miami-Dade-Wolfson Campus)
1989: Kristine Cousins (Miami-Dade-South Campus)
1988: Nicole Stubbs (Schoolcraft)

< back