Tuesday, March 16, 2004

3/16/2004

< back

AVCA Men's Head Coaches Committee Conference Call Notes
March 16, 2004 - 1 p.m. ET

Present: Joe Wortmann (chair), Doug Beal, Sean Byron, Jay Hosack, John Hutton, Charlie Sullivan, Joe Sagula (AVCA President), Jenifer Scheibler (AVCA staff). Not Present: Ron Larsen, Joel Walton.

Agenda

I. Upcoming AVCA Men's Coaches Meetings.

A. A meeting open to all AVCA coaches in attendance at the 2004 NCAA National Collegiate Men's Volleyball Championship in Honolulu will be held. Time, Date and Site TBD.

B. A meeting open to all AVCA coaches in attendance at the 2004 Boys' Junior Olympic Championships in Austin, Texas, will be held on July 3 at 6 p.m. in the coaches scout room. The committee is of the opinion that a representative from the AVCA office staff should be in attendance at this meeting to best be aware of issues brought forward by the men's coaches.
II. Division III Awards Program Approved.
Jenifer indicated that a separate awards program for Division III would be implemented for the 2004 season. The Division III program will mirror the DI-II program - naming two 10-person all-America teams (first and second), a player, newcomer and coach of the year. Charlie Sullivan as Springfield College will chair a five-member selection committee and will be assisted by fellow EIVA rep Jonathan Penn (Vassar College) and NECVA reps Jason Axford (Eastern Mennonite University) and Tim Byram (Endicott College).
III. Legislative
A. Charlie and Jenifer agreed to work together to get more information and clarification on Proposition 63.

B. Jenifer reminded the committee that Joel Walton was the Men's Committee rep to the AVCA Legislative Committee and that all information pertinent to AVCA members can be found in the "Legislative News" section of the web site.
IV. Miscellaneous
A. The AVCA Board meeting will be held April 25-27 in Minneapolis, Minnesota. Since men's rep Joe Wortmann will be coaching at that time, Jay Hosack volunteered to attend in Joe's place. The AVCA Executive Committee approved this plan.

B. There was a discussion regarding the possibility of adding term limits to the men's awards committee members. It was determined that this would be the decision of the awards committees.

C. The University of Hawai'i has set up a web site for the 2004 NCAA Men's National Collegiate Volleyball Championship at http://uhathletics.hawaii.edu/Vbchamp/home.html
The call was adjourned at 1:30 p.m. ET.

NEXT CALL: The next conference call is scheduled for Tuesday, April 13 at 1 p.m. ET (Noon CT, 11 a.m. MT, 10 a.m. PT).

< back