Tuesday, April 13, 2004

4/13/2004

< back

AVCA Men's Head Coaches Committee Conference Call Notes
April 13, 2004 - 1 p.m. ET

Present: Joe Wortmann (chair), Sean Byron, Jay Hosack, Ron Larsen, Charlie Sullivan, Jenifer Scheibler (AVCA staff).
Not Present: Doug Beal, John Hutton, Joel Walton.

Agenda

I. NCAA Men's Volleyball Championship.

The committee members discussed who among them was going to be in attendance at the upcoming championship and the opportunity to bring any issues to the attention of the Men's Volleyball Championships Committee.
II. Men's Awards.
Jenifer indicated that the men's awards season was under way for both Division I-II and Division III.
III. Oversight for Men's Volleyball.
A. Sean brought up the suggestion that the committee discuss and research the possibility of designating a person to handle oversight tasks for men's volleyball such as collecting squad lists, following eligibility tracks, etc. The suggestion was based on a desire to maintain a quality reputation for the sport.

B. The committee discussed the options of the designated person working at an institution or conference office. It would be requested that the person be familiar with the landscape of men's volleyball, compliance issues as related to men's volleyball and be respected by the men's volleyball community.

C. It was suggested that someone from NCAA Legislative Services be asked to attend the men's coaches meeting at the 2004 Boys' Junior Olympic Championships in Austin, Texas, to discuss some of the issues facing men's volleyball.
IV. Miscellaneous.
A. Jay Hosack will be taking the place of Joe Wortmann at the AVCA board meeting on April 25-27 in Minneapolis.

B. Jay Hosack requested that the AVCA staff explore the possibility of having footage from the Molten Championship be shown as part of the broadcasts during either or both the NCAA Championship or three conference championship broadcasts.

C. There will not be a men's coaches meeting at the 2004 NCAA National Collegiate Men's Volleyball Championship.

D. The University of Hawai'i has set up a web site for the 2004 NCAA Men's National Collegiate Volleyball Championship at http://uhathletics.hawaii.edu/Vbchamp/home.html
The call was adjourned at 1:50 p.m. ET.

NEXT CALL: The next conference call is scheduled for Tuesday, May 11 at 1 p.m. ET (Noon CT, 11 a.m. MT, 10 a.m. PT).

< back