CBS College Sports Network Presents College Beach Volleyball Championship


< back


CBS College Sports Network, the American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) and the AVP Pro Beach Volleyball Tour are again teaming up to host the College Beach Volleyball Championship, an elite event featuring the top women's collegiate volleyball players.  The 2010 College Beach Volleyball Championship will be held in Santa Barbara, Calif., on Saturday, May 1 and Sunday, May 2 in conjunction with the 2010 AVP NIVEA Tour Santa Barbara Open Benefiting Komen for the Cure. The College Beach Volleyball Championship is part of The Alt Games: College Action Sports Championships, an annual showcase of college action sports championship events, now in its fifth year.


The College Beach Volleyball Championship showcases top women's collegiate volleyball programs.  Each of the participating schools will field one team of two players, who have exhausted their collegiate eligibility.  Teams will first compete in a round robin pool play which will determine seeding for the double elimination round that will ultimately crown the champion.


The roster of teams includes: *No. 3-ranked University of Hawaii, *No. 8-ranked California, *No. 10-ranked Illinois, *No. 14-ranked UCLA, University of California Santa Barbara, University of California Irvine, Concordia University-Irvine, Delaware, Santa Clara, TCU and Webber International.   The complete list of teams and players is included below.


"We are happy to partner with CBS College Sports Network and the AVCA and support the College Beach Volleyball Championship for the fifth straight year," said Mike Dodd, AVP commissioner.  "This weekend's event in Santa Barbara will be a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity for the athletes competing, and a great complement to the AVP action."


Play begins in Santa Barbara on Saturday, May 1 at 8:30 a.m. PDT, with the final scheduled for Sunday, May 2 at 1:30 p.m. PDT. 


CBS College Sports Network will feature 10 weeks of sports specific Alt Games coverage from the five venues hosting this year's competitions. Beach volleyball semifinal coverage will air on Sunday, May 16 (8 p.m. EDT) and Thursday, May 20 (8 p.m. EDT), with finals coverage airing on Sunday, May 30 (8 p.m. EDT). Action from Santa Barbara will also be included in a special one-hour Alt Games highlight show airing on CBS Sports on Saturday, June 19
(5 p.m. EDT).


Hundreds of competitors from colleges and universities nationwide will compete at the 2010 Alt Games, which will crown national men's and women's champions in both individual and team events.   The Championship is free to the public. For more information about The Alt Games, go to


* Final 2009 AVCA Rankings


# # #


Media Contacts:

Dan Sabreen, 646-731-2357,

Will Engle, 859-219-3557,

Matt Landes, 310-426-7163,




2010 College Beach Volleyball Championship Team Rosters


1. University of California - Hana Cutura/Kristen Kathan

2. University of California Santa Barbara - Becca Saraceno /Lauren McLaughlin

3. University of California-Irvine - Devon Sutherland/Kristin Kelley

4. Concordia University-Irvine - Lindsey Campbell/Stephanie Scheele

5. University of Delaware - Stephanie Barry/Colleen Walsh

6. Hawaii - Stephanie Brandt/Tara Hittle

7. Illinois - Lizzie Bazzetta/Kylie McCulley

8. Santa Clara - Crystal Matich/Lindsay Davigeadono

9. TCU - Calli Corley/Kourtney Edwards

10. UCLA - Kaitlin Sather/Ali Daley

11. Webber International - Noelle Bay/Trisha Belcher

< back