2009 AVCA Men's Division III National Coach of the Year


< back


Jeremy Price - Juniata College
2009 AVCA Division III Men's National Coach of the Year


LEXINGTON, Ky. (May 5, 2009) - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is pleased to announce that Juniata College head men's volleyball coach Jeremy Price has been selected as the 2009 AVCA Division III Men's National Coach of the Year.


Coming off a season in which Juniata's streak of four consecutive Molten Division III Men's Invitational Volleyball Championship titles was broken, Price led the Eagles (18-8) back to the top of Division III men's volleyball in 2009, winning their record-sixth Molten Championship tournament. Juniata, who also holds tournament records in both Molten Championship appearances (10), and trips to the finals (7) was the top seed going into the event, and won all six games in which it played.  A sweep of Stevens Institute of Technology gave the Eagles the championship, which was the second for Price in his three years in Huntingdon.


Juniata qualified for the Molten Championship by winning the Eastern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association (EIVA) Division III regular season title; the Eagles lost only one match to a Division III opponent all season, falling to rival Springfield College in five games, before beating the Pride in a rematch later in the season.  Along the way to earning the No. 2 seed in the EIVA Tournament, in a league that features teams from Divisions I, II and III, they posted seven wins against NCAA Division I opponents, including a five-game victory against non-conference foe Ohio State, who will be making its second consecutive trip to the NCAA Men's Volleyball Championship this season.


With the 18-8 posting this season, Price is now 45-32 in three years at Juniata, including 19-7 against Division III opponents.


Price will be formally presented the AVCA Division III National Coach of the Year award in December in Tampa, Fla., at the 2009 jostens Coaches Honors Luncheon. The banquet is held in conjunction with the 2009 AVCA Annual Convention.


AVCA Division III Men's National Coach of the Year
2009: Jeremy Price (Juniata)

2008: Jonathan Penn (Vassar)

2007: L.J. Marx (Carthage)

2006: Craig Kolek (Rivier)

2005: L.J. Marx (Carthage)

2004: Ken Shibuya (Juniata)

< back