2006 AVCA Two-Year Colleges Player of the YearSM


< back

Juliana Paz of Iowa Western Community College Named 2006 AVCA Two-Year Colleges Player of the YearSM

For a printer friendly version, click here.


LEXINGTON, Ky. - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is pleased to announce Iowa Western Community College freshman outside hitter Juliana Paz as its 2006 Two-Year Colleges National Player of the YearSM.


Paz, the first Iowa Western player to receive this award, helped lead the Lady Reivers to a 60-4 record this season and their first-ever NJCAA Division I National Championship.  The Porto Alegre, Brazil native led NJCAA Division I with 1,017 kills and was second with a 5.95 kills per game average.  Her incredible kill numbers were produced at a .433 hitting percentage, one of the top twenty clips in NJCAA Division I.


Iowa Western finished the regular season as the No. 3 team in the NJCAA Division I poll, the highest ranking in school history.  The Lady Reivers entered the national tournament as the No. 3 seed, and went 4-0 in the competition, including knocking off top-ranked Western Nebraska Community College in sweeping fashion in the finals.  In fact, all of their school-record 60 wins this season were of the sweep variety.


The formal presentation of the 2006 AVCA Two Year Colleges National Player of the YearSM will be made Dec. 15 in Omaha, Neb. at the AVCA All-America/Players of the Year BanquetSM. The banquet, which will take place at the Qwest Center Omaha, is held in conjunction with the 2006 AVCA Annual Convention and NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball National Championships.

AVCA Two-Year Colleges National Players of the Year

2006: Juliana Paz (Iowa Western)

2005: JoAnna Kaczor (Southern Idaho)

2004: Keila Oliviera (Miami-Dade)

2003: Nevena Siljegovic (Moorpark)

2002: Madelaynne Montano (Miami-Dade)

2001: Juliana Escobar (Barton County)

2000: Stephanie Martin (Southern Idaho)

1999: Fabiana Spisso de Abreu (Southern Idaho)

1998: Fabiana Spisso de Abreu (Southern Idaho)

1997: Hai Yan (Southern Idaho)

1996: Jenni Roselli (Spokane Falls)

1995: Paula Araujo (Southern Idaho)

1994: Katianne Simonetti (Southern Idaho)

1993: Jessica Lee (Golden West)

1992: Pele Baker (Eastern Arizona)

1991: Hilda Gaxiola (Texas Southmost)

1990: Sandra Pena (Miami-Dade-Wolfson Campus)

1989: Kristine Cousins (Miami-Dade-South Campus)

1988: Nicole Stubbs (Schoolcraft)

1987: Sonia Trevino (San Jacinto-Central Campus)

< back