2009 AVCA Two-Year Colleges National Player of the Year


< back


Yiting Cao - Illinois Central College 


LEXINGTON, Ky. - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is pleased to announce Illinois Central College sophomore right side/opposite Yiting Cao as its 2009 Nfinity/AVCA Two-Year Colleges National Player of the Year.


Cao, the first Illinois Central player to receive this award, helped guide the Cougers to a 33-7 record this season and their first-ever NJCAA Division II National Championship.  The Shanghai, China native ranked in the top-ten of NJCAA Division II in kills per set (3.68) and aces per set (0.94), while also sitting among the national leaders in hitting efficiency.


Illinois Central entered the NJCAA Division II National Tournament as the No. 1 seed and lived up to its ranking. Cao, dubbed the event's Most Valuable Player, turned in a 23-kill, 15-dig, four-ace performance in the tournament title tilt, a dramatic 3-2 victory over Cowley College. She has twice been named to the championship's all-tournament team.


Cao is a two-time AVCA Two-Year Colleges All-American, earning a spot on the First-Team in 2009 and a Second-Team nod in 2008. She has also been named a First-Team NJCAA Division II All-American for the past two seasons.


The formal presentation of the 2009 Nfinity/AVCA Two-Year Colleges National Player of the Year will be made Dec. 18 in Tampa, Fla., at the AVCA All-America/Players of the Year Banquet presented by Zamst, held in conjunction with the 2009 AVCA Annual Convention and NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball National Championships.



AVCA Two-Year Colleges National Players of the Year


2009: Yiting Cao (Illinois Central)

2008: Kayla Schmidt (Blinn)

2007: Soriana Pacheco (Western Nebraska)

2006: Juliana Paz (Iowa Western)

2005: JoAnna Kaczor (Southern Idaho)

2004: Keila Oliviera (Miami-Dade)

2003: Nevena Siljegovic (Moorpark)

2002: Madelaynne Montano (Miami-Dade)

2001: Juliana Escobar (Barton County)

2000: Stephanie Martin (Southern Idaho)

1999: Fabiana Spisso de Abreu (Southern Idaho)

1998: Fabiana Spisso de Abreu (Southern Idaho)

1997: Hai Yan (Southern Idaho)

1996: Jenni Roselli (Spokane Falls)

1995: Paula Araujo (Southern Idaho)

1994: Katianne Simonetti (Southern Idaho)

1993: Jessica Lee (Golden West)

1992: Pele Baker (Eastern Arizona)

1991: Hilda Gaxiola (Texas Southmost)

1990: Sandra Pena (Miami-Dade-Wolfson Campus)

1989: Kristine Cousins (Miami-Dade-South Campus)

1988: Nicole Stubbs (Schoolcraft)

1987: Sonia Trevino (San Jacinto-Central Campus)

< back