USC's Murphy Troy Selected 2011 AVCA Men's Division I-II National Player of the Year


< back


LEXINGTON, Ky. (May 4, 2011) - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is pleased to announce that University of Southern California opposite Murphy Troy has been named 2011 AVCA Men's Division I-II National Player of the Year.


The presentation was made at the NCAA Men's Volleyball Championship Banquet on the campus of Penn State University in University Park, Pa. The banquet was held in conjunction with the NCAA Men's Volleyball Championship, to be played May 5 and 7 at Recreation Hall on Penn State's campus.


Troy, a native of St. Louis, Mo., played a crucial role in leading USC to a 23-3 record, the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (MPSF) regular season title with a 20-2 league mark, and the No. 1 seed heading into this weekend's NCAA Men's Volleyball Championship semifinals, where it will tangle with MPSF foe, fourth-seeded UC Santa Barbara.


The senior sparkplug currently leads USC in kills (358) and aces (37) in 2011 and is fourth in digs (140) and blocks (57). He ranks ninth nationally in aces (0.41), 10th in hitting percentage (.357) and 13th in kills (3.98).


A four-year starter who recently was named the MPSF Player of the Year, Troy was also an AVCA All-America First-Team honoree in both 2011 and 2009. During his career, the Trojans' co-captain has amassed 1,884 kills, 655 digs, 249 blocks and 142 aces. His kills, aces and 32 matches with 20-plus kills are rally scoring-era career records for the program. In addition, Troy is a four-time All-MPSF selection and has keyed USC to a 73-41 record during his time with the team.


Troy becomes just the third Trojan to be named AVCA National Player of the Year, as Donald Suxho earned the honor in 2000, and Brian Ivie took home the inaugural award following the 1991 season.


AVCA Division I-II Men's National Player of the Year

2011: Murphy Troy (USC)

2010: Kawika Shoji (Stanford)

2009: Paul Carroll (Pepperdine)

2008: Matt Anderson (Penn State),

          Paul Lotman (Long Beach State)

2007: Jonathan Winder (Pepperdine)

2006: Jayson Jablonsky (UC Irvine)

2005: Sean Rooney (Pepperdine)

2004: Carlos Moreno (BYU)

2003: Costas Theocharidis (Hawai'i)

2002: Brad Keenan (Pepperdine)

2001: Costas Theocharidis (Hawai'i)

2000: Donald Suxho (USC)

1999: George Roumain (Pepperdine)

1998: George Roumain (Pepperdine)

1997: Ivan Contreras (Penn State)

1996: Yuval Katz (Hawai'i)

          Stein Metzger (UCLA)

1995: Jeff Nygaard (UCLA)

1994: Jeff Nygaard (UCLA)

1993: Canyon Ceman (Stanford)

1992: Brent Hilliard (Long Beach State)

1991: Bryan Ivie (USC)

< back