OSU's Hanson Named AVCA Men's Division I-II National Coach of the Year


< back

LEXINGTON, Ky. (May 25, 2011) - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is proud to announce that The Ohio State University head men's volleyball coach Pete Hanson has been selected as the 2011 AVCA Division I-II Men's National Coach of the Year, while UC Irvine assistant coach David Kniffin has been tabbed the AVCA Division I-II Men's National Assistant Coach of the Year.


A 28-year veteran at the helm, Hanson led Ohio State to a season of firsts in 2011. The Buckeyes captured their first-ever NCAA Men's Volleyball Championship, becoming only one of three squads outside the West to do so, and finished the season as the No. 1 team in the AVCA Men's Division I-II Top-15 Poll for the first time in program history. OSU entered the NCAA Championship as the event's No. 3 seed, knocking off No. 2 seed Penn State, 3-1, in the tournament semifinals before securing a dramatic 3-2 victory over No. 4 seed UC Santa Barbara in the title tilt.


Ohio State ended 2011 with a 26-6 overall record, its fifth consecutive Midwestern Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIVA) regular season title with an 11-1 league mark, and the MIVA Tournament title, while being ranked in the top-10 of the Top 15 Poll for every week of the season. In addition, Hanson mentored the NCAA Tournament MVP and AVCA First-Team All-American Steven Kehoe.


Hanson holds a career record of 567-294 during his time with the Buckeyes, and has now twice been honored as the AVCA Division I-II Men's National Coach of the Year, the first time coming after the 2000 season.


Kniffin recently completed his fifth season as an assistant coach with UC Irvine. He helped the Anteaters to a 19-12 record in 2011, including a 14-8 mark in the highly-competitive Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (MPSF), while guiding the team to the semifinals of the league tournament. In addition, UCI was ranked in the top-seven of the AVCA Men's Division I-II Coaches Top 15 Poll the entire duration of the season, reaching as high as No. 2 three different weeks.


Both coaches will be formally presented their awards on December 15 in San Antonio, Texas at the 2011 jostens Coaches Honors Luncheon. The luncheon is held in conjunction with the 2011 AVCA Annual Convention.


AVCA Division I-II National Coach of the Year (prior to 2004, all Divisions competed for this honor)
 2011: Pete Hanson, Ohio State
2010: John Kosty, Stanford
2009: Bill Ferguson, Southern California
2008: Mark Pavlik, Penn State
2007: Arnie Ball, IPFW
2006: John Speraw, UC Irvine
2005: Marv Dunphy, Pepperdine
2004: Alan Knipe, Long Beach State
2003: Dave Deuser, Lewis
2002: Mike Wilton, Hawai'i
2001: Carl McGown, BYU
2000: Pete Hanson, Ohio State
1999: Carl McGown, BYU
1998: Al Scates, UCLA
1997: Ruben Nieves, Stanford
1996: Al Scates, UCLA
1995: Don Shondell, Ball State
1994: Tom Peterson, Penn State
1993: Al Scates, UCLA
1992: Ruben Nieves, Stanford
1991: Ray Ratelle, Long Beach State


< back