2012 AVCA Division I-II Men's National Player of the Year


< back

AVCA Division I-II Men's National Player of the Year

Tony Ciarelli - University of Southern California

Ciarelli Head ShotLEXINGTON, Ky. (May 2, 2012) - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is pleased to announce that University of Southern California outside hitter Tony Ciarelli has been named the 2012 AVCA Men's Division I-II National Player of the Year.


The presentation was made at the NCAA Men's Volleyball Championship Banquet on the campus of the University of Southern California. The banquet was held in conjunction with the NCAA Men's Volleyball Championship, to be played May 3 and 5 at the Galen Center on USC's campus.


Ciarelli, a native of Huntington Beach, Calif., played a crucial role in leading USC to a 23-5 record, the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (MPSF) regular season title with an 18-4 league mark, and the No. 2 seed heading into this weekend's NCAA Men's Volleyball Championship Semifinals. They will take on the MIVA Champion and No. 3 seed Lewis University.


The senior co-captain currently leads the country in aces averaging 0.63 per set and 59 overall. He is in the top-5 both nationally and in the MPSF Conference with 4.05 kills per set and is currently 16th in the country in hitting percentage (.315). Ciarelli took charge despite a supposed "rebuilding year" the Trojans were expected to have entering the season, leading the team in kills with 381. The next highest kill total comes from Tanner Jansen with 193.


A four-year starter who recently was named the MPSF Player of the Year, Ciarelli was also a First-Team AVCA All-American in 2012 and a Second-Team honoree the previous two years. For his career, he has accumulated 1,605 kills, 661 digs and 282 blocks. His 164 career aces and 59 aces in 2012 are USC rally scoring records.


Ciarelli becomes the fourth Trojan and the second consecutive player to be named AVCA National Player of the Year, as Brian Ivie took home the inaugural award following the 1991 season, Donald Suxho earned the honor in 2000 and Murphy Troy won it a year ago.

< back