2013 AVCA Division III Men's National Player of the Year


< back

2013 AVCA Men's Division III National Player of the Year

EJ Wells-Spicer - Nazareth College

LEXINGTON, Ky. (April 25, 2013) -  The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is proud to announce that Nazareth College senior setter EJ Wells-Spicer has been named the 2013 Men's Division III National Player of the Year.


The presentation was made at the NCAA Division III Men's Volleyball Championship Banquet in Rochester, New York.  The banquet was held in conjunction with the NCAA Division III Men's Volleyball Championship, to be played April 26-28 on the campus of Nazareth College.


The Nazareth Golden Flyers have had an unprecedented year in 2013, starting this season's campaign with 31 consecutive victories and an eventual United Volleyball Conference Championship under the senior leadership of Wells-Spicer.  In the UVC Championship Match against No. 6 Stevens, he accumulated 39 assists in the sweep in addition to the 94 assists he tallied in the previous two matches of the UVC Tournament.


Heading into the NCAA Tournament, the Phelps, NY native leads the nation averaging 11.55 assists per set.  He helped set fellow AVCA All-Americans Robert Kraft (.488 hitting percentage), Luke Lawatsch (.484) and Tim Zyburt (.320) to fantastic years.  Overall as a team, the Golden Flyers hit .327 ending regular season play as No. 1 in overall assists per set at 12.83.


The two-time Sports Imports/AVCA Player of the Week enters the 2013 postseason with an astounding 111-29 overall record in his four years, including a Molten Division III National Championship in 2011.  Earlier this week, Wells-Spicer was one of four Nazareth players to be named AVCA All-Americans, but one distinction he earns all to himself is being the first player in program history to be named the AVCA Player of the Year.

AVCA Division III Men's National Player of the Year

2013:  EJ Wells-Spicer, Nazareth College

2012: Randy Hansen, Carthage College

2011 Cal Palumbo, Springfield College

2010 AJ Nally, Springfield College

2009 Andrew Cranford, Stevens Institute of Technology

2008 Bryan Shires, UC Santa Cruz

2007 Matt Werle, Juniata College

2006 Chris Schmidt, New York University

2005 Ricky Ziegler, Juniata College
2004 Kenny Eiser, Juniata College

< back