2004 Men's National Player of the Year Division I/II


< back

BYU Junior Carlos Moreno Named AVCA Men's Division I-II National Player of the Year

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (May 5, 2004) -
The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is pleased to announce Brigham Young University junior setter Carlos Moreno has been selected as the 2004 AVCA Division I-II National Player of the Year for men's volleyball.

Moreno, a native of Sao Paulo, Brazil, was also named to the AVCA All-America First-Team after being a second-team selection in 2003. He has run the Cougar offense to a .364 team attack percentage, which ranks third nationally in NCAA Division I-II. Moreno, the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Player of the Year, ranks second nationally in assist average with 14.09 per game while adding 1.18 digs and 0.81 blocks per game on defense. He has scored 149.5 points this season, including 83 kills in 113 games played.

Moreno has recorded 50 or more assists in 18 matches this season, including a 64-assist night versus Stanford on Feb. 21. He totaled a season-high 77 assists versus Pepperdine on March 13 en route to being named Sports Imports/AVCA Division I-II National Player of the Week on March 15. Moreno ranks second all-time at BYU in career assists with 4,531.

BYU won the MPSF regular season with a 20-2 league record and claimed the MPSF Tournament championship. The Cougars won a school-record 21 consecutive matches earlier this season and are 27-4 heading into the NCAA National Collegiate Men's Volleyball Championship semifinals. BYU has been ranked number-one in the USA Today/AVCA Division I-II Men's Coaches Top 15 Poll for nine consecutive weeks. The Cougars are 22-4 versus currently ranked teams.

Formal presentation of the AVCA All-America and National Player of the Year awards were made Wednesday, May 5, at the NCAA Men's Volleyball National Championship Banquet in Honolulu.

AVCA National Players of the Year
2004: Carlos Moreno (Brigham Young)
2003: Costas Theocharidis (Hawai'i)
2002: Brad Keenan (Pepperdine)
2001: Costas Theocharidis (Hawai'i)
2000: Donald Suxho (USC)
1999: George Roumain (Pepperdine)
1998: George Roumain (Pepperdine)
1997: Ivan Contreras (Penn State)
1996: Yuval Katz (Hawai'i), Stein Metzger (UCLA)
1995: Jeff Nygaard (UCLA)
1994: Jeff Nygaard (UCLA)
1993: Canyon Ceman (Stanford)
1992: Brent Hilliard (Long Beach State)
1991: Bryan Ivie (USC)

< back