2007 Men's National Coach of the Year Division I/II


< back

IPFW Head Coach Arnie Ball Selected
2007 AVCA Division I-II Men's National Coach of the YearSM

pdf version


LEXINGTON, Ky. (May 23, 2007) - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is proud to announce that IPFW Head Men's Volleyball Coach Arnie Ball has been selected as the 2007 AVCA Division I-II Men's National Coach of the YearSM.  In the 17-year history of the AVCA National Coach of the Year award, this is the first time Ball has been honored.


Ball led IPFW to the first NCAA National Men's Volleyball Championship final match in school history.  The Mastodons reached their sixth national semifinal, where they defeated top seeded and then-top-ranked Pepperdine to reach the championship match.  They fell to UC Irvine in four games in the final.


IPFW, who finished the season 23-8, advanced to the national semifinals after winning the Midwest Intercollegiate Volleyball Association (MIVA) Tournament, sweeping Ohio State on the Buckeyes' home floor in the finals.  The Mastodons finished second in the MIVA Shondell/Dunlap Division in the regular season, going 9-3 in conference play.


IPFW finished the season ranked third in the CSTV/AVCA Division I-II Men's Top 15 Coaches Poll, which ties the highest ranking in school history, having last achieved that mark in 2000.  The No. 3 ranking also tied the school record for their highest final ranking, attaining that mark at the end of the 1999 season. 


"This award is a tribute to the players, staff and support of the IPFW staff and students over the past 25 years," Ball said, upon learning he had received the award.  "It is an honor to represent this team with this award.  I and the whole volleyball community here in Fort Wayne are appreciative of the AVCA and the men's coaches of the NCAA for recognizing this program."


Having just completed his 27th season at IPFW, Ball is now holds an overall mark of 457-314 as coach of the Mastodons.


Ball will be formally presented the AVCA Division I-II National Coach of the Year award in December in Sacramento, Calif., at the 2007 AVCA Coach of the Year and Victory Club AwardsSM banquet. The banquet is held in conjunction with the 2007 AVCA Annual Convention.


AVCA Division I-II Men's National Coach of the YearSM
(prior to 2004, all Divisions competed for this honor)

2007: Arnie Ball, IPFW

2006: John Speraw, UC Irvine

2005: Marv Dunphy, Pepperdine

2004: Alan Knipe, Long Beach St.

2003: Dave Deuser, Lewis

2002: Mike Wilton, Hawai'i

2001: Carl McGown, BYU

2000: Peter Hanson, Ohio State

1999: Carl McGown, BYU

1998: Al Scates, UCLA

1997: Ruben Nieves, Stanford

1996: Al Scates, UCLA

1995: Don Shondell, Ball St.

1994: Tom Peterson, Penn St.

1993: Al Scates, UCLA

1992: Ruben Nieves, Stanford

1991: Ray Ratelle, Long Beach St.

< back