2003 Men's National Coach of the Year


< back

Lewis University Head Coach Dave Deuser Selected
2003 AVCA/Tachikara Men's National Coach of the Year

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo.--The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA), in conjunction with Tachikara, is pleased to announce that Lewis University Head Men's Volleyball Coach Dave Deuser has been selected the 2003 AVCA/Tachikara Men's National Coach of the Year.

Deuser's Flyers became the first Division II team to win the NCAA National Collegiate Men's Volleyball Championship, upsetting BYU 3-2. Lewis' championship was the first major college championship by a school from the Chicago area since Loyola's men's basketball team won the 1963 national title. It was also the first NCAA team championship for Lewis; the school won NAIA baseball championships in 1974, 1975 and 1976.

Lewis ended the season at 29-5 and ranked first in the final USA Today/AVCA Division I-II Coaches Top 15 Poll. The Flyers began the season ranked 11th in the national poll released Jan. 14 and played their way into the top five for the last 13 weeks of the season.

Lewis completed Midwest Intercollegiate Volleyball Association (MIVA) play with a 15-1 record to earn the regular season championship, and the Flyers went on to win the league tournament crown.

Lewis players earned three spots on the AVCA All-America Teams. Gustavo Meyer earned first-team honors while Jose Martins and Ryan Stuntz were named to the second team. The Flyers boasted the nation's best team hitting percentage in the final 2003 statistics report (May 1).

Deuser was named the 2003 MIVA Coach of the Year and serves as a USA Today/AVCA Division I-II Coaches Top 15 Poll voter and on the AVCA Men's All-America Committee.

Deuser, the only coach in the program's history, has compiled a 237-98 overall record in 10 seasons for a .707 winning percentage. His teams have averaged over 23 wins per season, and he has produced 11 AVCA all-Americans and 32 all-MIVA players.

"This really means a lot to me," said Deuser. "Knowing that this decision was made by my peers is another factor that makes this even more of an honor. I have a great group of guys that worked very hard to make this season a reality and I have to give my team much of the credit." 

Deuser earned the AVCA/Tachikara Coach of the Year honor through a two-stage voting process. Every current AVCA-member men's head volleyball coach was listed on a preliminary ballot with the top four vote receivers advancing to the final ballot. Each AVCA-member men's head coach voted in rank order for three coaches in the first stage. A total of 12 different coaches received votes on the preliminary ballot. In addition to Deuser, the final ballot included Pepperdine's Marv Dunphy, Brigham Young's Tom Peterson and UC Irvine's John Speraw.

The formal presentation of the award will be made Dec. 18, 2003, in Dallas, at the AVCA national convention, held in conjunction with the NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball National Championship.

< back