2005 AVCA National Player of the Year


< back

Nebraska's Christina Houghtelling Named 2005 AVCA Division I National Player of the YearSM

SAN ANTONIO, Texas - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) announced today that University of Nebraska junior right side/opposite hitter Christina Houghtelling was named the 2005 American Volleyball Coaches Association Division I National Player of the YearSM.

The presentations were made at the AVCA All-America/Players of the Year BanquetSM in San Antonio. The banquet was held in conjunction with the AVCA Annual Convention.

Houghtelling ranks among the Big 12 leaders in hitting percentage and kills per game. She attacks at a .377 percentage with averages of 3.70 kills and 1.00 blocks per game. Houghtelling has hit .400 or better in 19 of 34 matches. She has led the team in kills 13 times this season. Houghtelling has five double-doubles this season, the last coming against Texas on Nov. 26 with 14 kills and 13 digs.

Houghtelling has helped lead Nebraska to a 33-1 overall record and Big 12 championship. The Huskers have advanced to the NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Championship title match against Washington on Dec. 17. Nebraska has been the top-ranked team in the CSTV/AVCA Division I Coaches Top 25 PollSM all season and is attempting to become the third team in the poll's history to lead wire-to-wire.

Houghtelling, an elementary education major with a 3.90 grade point average, was named to the 2005 ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America First Team as selected by College Sports Information Directors of America. She was selected as most valuable player of the AVCA/NACWAA College Volleyball Showcase to open the season, then earned the Most Outstanding Player award of the NCAA Division I Tournament Omaha Regional last weekend.

Houghtelling competed on the USA Volleyball A-2 National Team this past summer. She traveled to Switzerland and competed in the Montreux VolleyMasters Tournament while competing for the A-2 team.

Greichaly Cepero was the last Husker to earn the AVCA Division I National Player of YearSM as she received it in Nebraska's last title season in 2000.

Previous AVCA Division I National Players of the YearSM
2005: Christina Houghtelling (Nebraska)
2004: Stacey Gordon (Ohio State); Ogonna Nnamani (Stanford)
2003: Kim Willoughby (Hawai'i)
2002: Logan Tom (Stanford)
2001: Logan Tom (Stanford)
2000: Greichaly Cepero (Nebraska)
1999: Lauren Cacciamani (Penn State); Kerri Walsh (Stanford)
1998: Misty May (Long Beach State)
1997: Misty May (Long Beach State)
1996: Angelica Ljungquist (Hawai'i )
1995: Cary Wendell (Stanford); Allison Weston (Nebraska)
1994: Laura Davis (Ohio State)
1993: Danielle Scott (Long Beach State)
1992: Natalie Williams (UCLA)
1991: Antoinnette White (Long Beach State)
1990: Bev Oden (Stanford)
1989: Tara Cross (Long Beach State); Teee Williams (Hawai'i)
1988: Tara Cross (Long Beach State)
1987: Teee Williams (Hawai'i)
1986: Mariliisa Salmi (BYU)
1985: Kim Oden (Stanford)


< back