2001 AVCA Division III National Player of the Year


< back

Allison Erickson of Wis.-Whitewater Named 2001 AVCA Division III Player of the Year

    Wisconsin-Whitewater's Allison EricksonColorado Springs, Colo. - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is pleased to announce that the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater's Allison Erickson, a 5-9 right side/opposite hitter from Ripon, Wis., has been selected as the 2001 AVCA Division III National Player of the Year.

    Erickson is currently hitting .292, and averaging 3.41 kills and 3.58 digs per game heading into UW-Whitewater's NCAA Division III semifinal match against Wellesley. She shared Wisconsin Athletic Conference Player of the Year honors and was named first team all-league for the fourth straight year.

    "The decision was a difficult one due to the fact there are so many quality volleyball players to consider. Allison Erickson was chosen because she is deserving and was instrumental in her team's advancement in the national tournament," said Jenny McDowell, chair of the AVCA Division III Postseason Awards Committee and head coach at Emory University.

    Erickson was named to the WIAC All-Defensive Team behind 20 matches with double-figure digs. She tallied 31 digs in a four-game win over Central College. Against then-No. 1 Washington University she pounded 33 kills and hit .652, en route to being selected to the all-tournament team at the Washington National Invitational. Additionally, she earned one of three WIAC Scholar Athlete Awards for volleyball in 2001.

    A second-team AVCA All-America selection last season, Erickson helped UW-Whitewater to its second straight trip to the final two rounds of the NCAA Division III Championship. The Warhawks are 34-2 on the year and are ranked No. 1 in the AVCA Division III Coaches Top 20 Poll. Erickson has assisted in keeping UW-Whitewater atop the rankings for six straight weeks, four of which the Warhawks were unanimously voted the top team.

    In Erickson's four-year career, UW-Whitewater has enjoyed a .901 winning percentage, which includes 137 wins to only 15 losses.

    The formal presentation of the award to the 2001 AVCA National Players of the Year will be made Dec. 14 in San Diego at the AVCA All-America/Player of the Year banquet. The banquet, which will take place at the San Diego Marriott Hotel and Marina, is held in conjunction with the 2001 AVCA National Convention and NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball National Championship.

    AVCA Division III National Players of the Year
    2000 Candace Wilson, Central College
    1999 Abbie Brown, Central College
    1998 Abbie Brown, Central College
    1997 Jennifer Martz, Washington Univ.
    1996 Amy Ward, Wisconsin-Oshkosh
    1995 Shelley Swan, Washington Univ.
    1994 Amy Albers, Washington Univ.
    1993 Amy Albers, Washington Univ.
    1992 Lisa Becker, Washington Univ.
              Anastasia Nikas, Stony Brook Univ.
    1991 Elizabeth Tan, UC San Diego
    1990 Kathy Bersett, Washington Univ.
    1989 Lori Nishikawa, Washington Univ.
    1988 Lori Nishikawa, Washington Univ.
    1987 Janet Hughes, UC San Diego
    1986   Anne Westerkamp, Benedictine Univ.
    1985 Sherri Petrick, Benedictine Univ.

< back