2000 AVCA Division III All-America Teams


< back

2000 AVCA ALL-AMERICA TEAMS ANNOUNCED FOR DIVISION III WOMEN'S VOLLEYBALLThe American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is proud to announce the 20th annual All-America and National Player of the Year awards for Division III women's volleyball. The awards will be presented Nov. 30, 2000, at the NCAA Division III Women's National Championship banquet at Graham Conference Center on the Central College campus in Pella, Iowa beginning at 7 p.m. The Division III semifinals on Friday and consolation and championship on Saturday are scheduled for 5 and 8 p.m. each day at Central's Kuyper Gymnasium.

Candace Wilson of Central College has earned AVCA NCAA Division III National Player of the Year, marking the third straight year the Dutch have had a player selected for the award. Wilson is a three-time first-team selection, and Katie Gielow of Washington University and Angie Nielsen of Central College are two-time first-time selections from the 1999 season.

The 2000 All-America selections were made by the AVCA Division III All-America Committee: Jenny McDowell, Emory University, chairperson; Mary Cahill, Chapman University; Steve Coulson, Franklin & Marshall College; Tim Cowie, New York University, Valerie Gin, Gordon College; Kim Nelson-Brown, Illinois Wesleyan; Stephanie Schleuder, Macalester College; and Connie Surowicz, Wittenberg University.


Player Institution Pos. Yr.  Ht. Hometown
Jane Copenhaver Wisconsin-Oshkosh MB Sr. 5-10 Wausua, Wisconsin
Christa Downey Nazareth College OH So. 5-9 Geneseo, New York
Karen Elmgren University of Puget Sound MB So. 6-0 Monroe, Washington
Melinda Erickson Wisconsin-Whitewater OH Jr. 5-9 Ripon, Wisconsin
Katie Gielow * Washington University MB Sr. 6-1 Herculaneum, Missouri
Angie Nielsen * Central College S Jr. 5-9 Ankeny, Iowa
Betsy Owens # College of Mount St. Joseph OH Jr. 5-10  Cincinnati, Ohio
Christina Southward # Wisconsin-Oshkosh S Jr. 5-7 St. Anthony, Minnesota
Brittany Warfield New York University OH So. 5-11 San Diego, California
Megan Williams # Emory University MB Sr. 5-11 Salt Lake City, Utah
Candace Wilson *+ Central College OH Sr. 6-1 Britt, Iowa
Brandy Workinger Juniata College OH Jr. 5-9 York, Pennsylvania


Player Institution Pos. Yr. Ht. Hometown
Robin Chase Springfield College RS/Opp Sr. 5-10 Webster, New York
Allison Erickson Wisconsin-Whitewater RS/Opp Jr. 5-9 Ripon, Wisconsin
Janie Hodgkinson DePauw University OH Jr 5-10 Lake Bluff, Illinois
Melissa Mattson # Wisconsin-River Falls MB Sr. 6-1 Alden, Minnesota
Kim Meyer Elmhurst College OH Sr. 5-7 St. Louis, Missouri
Andrea Ohta Occidental College OH So. 5-9 Cypress, California
Desiree Pratt # Trinity University S Sr. 5-8 League City, Texas
Rebecca Rotello Washington University S So. 5-7 Springfield, Illinois
Shannon Sobczak Elmhurst College S Sr. 5-10 Calumet City, Illinois
Brandi Stover Ohio Northern University S Jr. 5-6 Rockford, Ohio
Lindsi Weber University of Puget Sound S Sr. 5-4 Selah, Washington
Jesse Woods Juniata College S So. 5-8 Seattle, Washington

2000 AVCA Division III National Player of the Year: Candace Wilson, Central College

* indicates 1999 AVCA First-Team All-America selection

+ indicates 1998 AVCA First-Team All-America selection

# indicates 1999 AVCA Second-Team All-America selection

< back