2002 AVCA National Player of the Year


< back

Stanford's Logan Tom Tabbed AVCA Division I Player of the Year

NEW ORLEANS -- The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) announced today that Stanford University Logan Tom, a senior outside hitter from Salt Lake City, Utah, was named the 2002 American Volleyball Coaches Association Division I National Player of the Year.

The presentation was made at the AVCA All-America/Player of the Year Banquet in New Orleans. The banquet was held in conjunction with the AVCA Annual Convention.

Tom, who also earned the AVCA National Player of the Year award in 2001, has led Stanford to a 32-2 record and spot in the NCAA Championship match against Long Beach State University on Dec. 15. She averages 4.94 kills, 0.82 blocks and 3.17 digs per game. Tom tallied a .320 attack percentage in 57 nationally ranked games during the regular season.

Tom, the only current collegiate player on the U.S. National Team, earned Pac-10 Conference Player of the Year. She is just the third player to earn AVCA All-America First-Team honors all four seasons of eligibility. Tom, who currently ranks second in the Pac-10 for career kills and second at Stanford for career aces, earned the AVCA/Sports Imports National Player of the Week on Nov. 11.

The other four-time first-team AVCA All-Americans both played at Stanford as well - Bev Oden (1989-1992) and Kerri Walsh (1996-1999).

Previous AVCA Division I Players of the Year:
2001: Logan Tom, Stanford
2000: Greichaly Cepero, Nebraska
1999: Lauren Cacciamani, Penn State; and Kerri Walsh, Stanford
1998: Misty May, Long Beach State
1997: Misty May, Long Beach State
1996: Angelica Ljungquist, Hawai'i
1995: Cary Wendell, Stanford; and Allison Weston, Nebraska
1994: Laura Davis, Ohio State
1993: Danielle Scott, Long Beach State
1992: Natalie Williams, UCLA
1991: Antoinnette White, Long Beach State
1990: Bev Oden, Stanford
1989: Tara Cross, Long Beach State; and Teee Williams, Hawai'i
1988: Tara Cross, Long Beach State
1987: Teee Williams, Hawai'i
1986: Mariliisa Salmi, BYU
1985: Kim Oden, Stanford

< back