2001 AVCA National Player of the Year


< back

Stanford's Logan Tom Tabbed AVCA Division I Player of the Year

SAN DIEGO -- The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) announced today that Stanford University Logan Tom, a junior outside hitter from Salt Lake City, Utah, was named the 2001 American Volleyball Coaches Association Division I National Player of the Year on Dec. 14.

The presentation was made at the AVCA All-America/Player of the Year Banquet in San Diego. The banquet was held in conjunction with the AVCA Convention.

Tom, a three-time AVCA All-America First-Team selection, has led Stanford to a 32-2 record and spot in the NCAA Championship match against Long Beach State University on Dec. 15. She averages 4.95 kills, 0.88 blocks, 0.55 service aces and 3.49 digs per game. Tom has tallied a .335 hitting percentage for the third-ranked Cardinals.

Tom, the only current collegiate player on the U.S. National Team, earned Pac-10 Conference Player of the Year. She was tabbed the league's Player of the Week five times, in addition to the AVCA/Sports Imports National Player of the Week once.

Previous AVCA Division I Players of the Year:
2000: Greichaly Cepero, Nebraska
1999: Lauren Cacciamani, Penn State; and Kerri Walsh, Stanford
1998: Misty May, Long Beach State
1997: Misty May, Long Beach State
1996: Angelica Ljungquist, Hawai'i
1995: Cary Wendell, Stanford; and Allison Weston, Nebraska
1994: Laura Davis, Ohio State
1993: Danielle Scott, Long Beach State
1992: Natalie Williams, UCLA
1991: Antoinnette White, Long Beach State
1990: Bev Oden, Stanford
1989: Tara Cross, Long Beach State; and Teee Williams, Hawai'i
1988: Tara Cross, Long Beach State
1987: Teee Williams, Hawai'i
1986: Mariliisa Salmi, BYU
1985: Kim Oden, Stanford

< back