1996 Tachikara/AVCA District Coaches of the Year


< back

1996 Tachikara/AVCA Division I District Coaches of the Year

The following coaches have been voted by their district as Tachikara/AVCA District Coach of the Year. Each of the honorees will represent their district on the national Coach of the Year ballot. The award will be officially presented at the Tachikara/AVCA Coach of the Year Banquet in Cleveland, Ohio., on Thursday, Dec. 19, at the AVCA national convention.

District 1 Coach of the Year
Bob Schneck, Rhode Island

Rhode Island won the Atlantic 10 championship and advanced to the NCAA tournament for the first time since 1991. On the season, Rhode Island defeated Wyoming, Temple (twice), Massachusetts (twice) and Dayton (twice). The Rams finished the season with a 31-7 overall record, the most wins in Schneck's 16-year history.

District 2 Coach of the Year 
Russ Rose, Penn State

Rose led the Nittany Lions to a share of the Big Ten title starting just one senior. Rose, the Big Ten Coach of the Year, guided the team to victories over Washington State, Michigan State, Ohio State and Wisconsin. The squad claimed four tournament titles this year and ended the regular season undefeated at home. The Nittany Lions have advanced to the NCAA tournament for the 17th consecutive season.

District 3 Coach of the Year 
Janice Kruger, Maryland

Kruger led her squad to a 16-0 record in the Atlantic Coast Conference, the best performance ever by an ACC team. The Terrapins were ranked No. 21 in the final regular-season poll, after earning their first-ever national ranking earlier in the year. The squad's four losses have all come at the hands of teams in the top 25. Maryland's appearance in the NCAA second round was its first in school history.

District 4 Coach of the Year 
Mary Wise, Florida

Wise has guided a squad returning just two starters to its first-ever No. 1 ranking in the USA TODAY/AVCA Coaches Top 25 Poll and a 35-1 overall record. The Gators claimed their sixth consecutive SEC title and beat Texas, Maryland, Houston, Arkansas (twice) and South Florida. In six years at Florida, Wise has posted a 200-19 overall record and 68-2 record in the SEC. The Gators look to return to the national semifinals for the third time in the last five years.

District 5 Coach of the Year
Terry Pettit, Nebraska

Pettit has guided a team with only two starters returning from last year's national championship squad to the inaugural Big 12 championship. The Cornhuskers defeated Michigan State (twice), Texas (twice), Texas A&M (twice) and BYU. Nebraska continued its dominance in conference play at home, posting an unbelievable 114-0 record in Lincoln. The 1996 Big 12 Coach of the Year, Pettit has led the Cornhuskers to the NCAA tournament for the 15th consecutive season.

District 6 Coach of the Year 
Perri Hankins, South Florida

Hankins has led the Bulls to their second consecutive Conference USA title after the loss of four starters. South Florida beat Pacific, Louisville, Houston and Cincinnati on the year. This was their third NCAA appearance in the last four years. The Bulls' 27-5 overall record marked the third consecutive season that Hankins has led the team to a 20-win season.

District 7 Coach of the Year 
Elaine Michaelis, BYU

BYU started the season with a 1-4 record, but has responded by rolling through the end of the season, running off 24 straight victories. BYU captured the first WAC championship with a five-game victory over tournament favorite Hawai'i. In addition, the Cougars have victories over San Diego State (twice), New Mexico and San Diego.

District 8 Coach of the Year 
Steve Stratos, Loyola Marymount

Stratos was the West Coast Conference Coach of the Year after leading the Lions to a perfect 14-0 mark in the WCC. This marks the third consecutive year Stratos has led the team to the NCAA tournament. On the year, LMU defeated UC Santa Barbara, Colorado State, Arizona, San Diego State and Cal State Northridge.

< back