1998 Tachikara/AVCA NAIA Regional Coaches of the Year


< back

1998 Tachikara/AVCA NAIA Region Coaches of the Year

For immediate release - Nov. 30, 1998

The following coaches have been voted by their region as Tachikara/AVCA Region Coach of the Year.  Each of the honorees will represent their region on the national coach of the year ballot.  The award will be officially presented at the Tachikara/AVCA Coach of the Year Banquet in Madison, Wis., on Thursday, Dec. 17, at the AVCA National Convention.

Far West Region Coach of the Year
Dennis Janzen, Fresno Pacific

    Janzen led Fresno Pacific to its third consecutive Far West Region Championship with a four-game victory over Christian Heritage.  On the season the Sunbirds defeated nationally-ranked Biola, Dickinson State, Westmont, St. Edward's and Cal Baptist.  FPU is making its fifth consecutive national tournament appearance.
Great Lakes Region Coach of the Year
Deane Webb, Indiana Wesleyan
    The Wildcats finished the season 35-16 and No. 10 in the region after upsetting No. 7 Dominican in the Great Lakes Region tournament.  Webb was named the Mid-Central Conference Coach of the Year after leading Indiana Wesleyan to a school record 35 victories.  In his two seasons at the helm of the program, Webb has helped the Wildcats improve from a team that finished 7-31 in 1996.
Great Plains Region
Tom Van don Bosch, Dordt College
    Dordt has advanced to the NAIA national tournament for the first time in school history after finishing as runner-up in the regional tournament.  The Defenders claimed the South Dakota-Iowa Athletic Conference with a four-game win over Sioux Falls.  No. 13 Dordt defeated No. 21 College of St. Mary and No. 8 Hastings this season.

Midwest Region Co-Coaches of the Year
Susan and Wayne Kreklow, Columbia College

    The Kreklows have guided the Cougars to a perfect 38-0 record and the No. 1 ranking in the NAIA national poll heading into their fourth consecutive NAIA tournament.  Columbia has advanced to the quarterfinals in each NAIA tournament appearance, placing no lower than fifth.  This season, the Cougars dropped just six games en route to earning their first-ever top seed at the national tournament.
Mid-South Region Coach of the Year
Donna Hawkins, Georgetown College
    Georgetown held down the top spot in the Mid-South region for the majority of the season and claimed the Mid-South Conference title with a three-game win over Cumberland (Tenn.).  The Tigers were ranked No. 20 in the final NAIA national poll.
Northeast Region Coach of the Year
Jim Vanderhoof, Roberts Wesleyan
    Vanderhoof helped the Raiders to the third seed in the Northeast region and a 33-8 overall record.  He earned his 100th career win in a three-game win over Houghton, Oct. 14.
Pacific Northwest Region Coach of the Year
Kip Yoshimura, Lewis-Clark State College
    The Warriors won the Pacific Northwest Independents Tournament and finished third in the Pacific Northwest Region to advance to their third consecutive national tournament.  On the season, LCSC earned victories over nationally-ranked Western Oregon, Northwest Nazarene, George Fox and Puget Sound.
Southeast Region Coach of the Year
Terri Kaiser, Palm Beach Atlantic
    Palm Beach Atlantic rebounded from a five-game loss to Embry-Riddle in the Florida Sun Conference title match to claim the Southeast regional crown and its first national tournament appearance.  The Sailfish defeated third-seed Georgia Southwestern and fifth-seed St. Thomas in three games to win the title.  Palm Beach Atlantic made its first-ever appearance in the NAIA national poll this season.
Southwest Region Coach of the Year
Steven McRoberts, Lubbock Christian
    McRoberts led Lubbock Christian to its first-ever Southwest Region title with victories over No. 19 St. Edward's and No. 9 Texas Lutheran.  LCU also claimed the Sooner Athletic Conference with three-game wins over Southern Nazarene and Wayland Baptist.  The Lady Chaps finished the regular season ranked No. 6 in the final NAIA national poll.

< back