1996 Tachikara/AVCA Division II Region Coaches of the Year


< back

1996 Tachikara/AVCA Division II Region Coaches of the Year

The following coaches have been voted by their region as Tachikara/AVCA Region Coach of the Year. Each of the honorees will represent their region on the national Coach of the Year ballot. The award will be officially presented at the Tachikara/AVCA Coach of the Year Banquet in Cleveland, Ohio., on Thursday, Dec. 19, at the AVCA national convention.

Atlantic Region Coach of the Year
Lynn Thees, Edinboro

Edinboro again finished on top of the PSAC-West Division with an 8-2 record. Thees has compiled a 26-4 conference record in her three year's as head coach.. They have advanced to this years Elite Eight for the second time in the last three years. Among its significant wins, Edinboro beat Truman State, Slippery Rock, Lock Haven and West Virginia Wesleyan on the year.

Great Lakes Region Coach of the Year
Mark Rosen, Northern Michigan

Rosen has again led the Wildcats to a possible national championship. Replacing four starters from 1995's national runner-up squad has not slowed them down, as they claimed their sixth consecutive GLIAC title. Victories over Barry, Michigan Tech (three times), Northwood (twice) and St. Cloud State highlight the year. NMU is looking for its fifth consecutive trip to the NCAA championship match after claiming the title in 1993 and 1994.

North Central Region Coach of the Year
Rose Shires, Nebraska-Omaha

Shires has led a team without its top player from a year ago to the No. 1 ranking in the final AVCA Coaches Top 25 poll. UNO did not even make the regionals last year and have advanced all the way to the Elite Eight this season, returning to there for the first time since 1987. Wins over Augustana, Barry, Tampa, North Dakota State and Minnesota Duluth highlight the year for UNO.

Northeast Region Coach of the Year
Robin Salters, New Haven

Salters guided New Haven to its first-ever top 10 ranking. The Chargers are 117-7 with Salters at the helm, and return to the Elite Eight for the eighth consecutive year. New Haven was undefeated in the region and posted victories over Dowling, Tampa and Florida Southern.

Northwest Region Coach of the Year
Tom Shoji, Southern Colorado

Shoji guided a .500 squad from a year ago into its first-ever NCAA tournament this year, after claiming the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference tournament crown. The Thunderwolves only losses of the season were to nationally-ranked Nebraska-Kearney, Regis, Colorado Christian and to Mesa State, whom they later defeated to win the conference title. The team posted a 27-5 overall record.

South Region Coach of the Year
Chris Catanach, Tampa

Catanach has led the Spartans back to the Elite Eight for the first time since 1993. Tampa claimed the Sunshine State Conference with a 13-1 record, after finishing tied for third in 1995 with a 9-5 record. Victories over Barry, Florida Southern, Grand Canyon, UC Davis and North Florida highlight the year. The Spartans are 31-6 heading into the national championship tournament.

South Central Region Coach of the Year
Peggy Martin, Central Missouri State

Martin has guided a team returning just two starters from last year's squad, which placed third in the country for the second consecutive year, to an eight-week stint at the No. 1 spot in the AVCA Coaches Top 25 poll. Central Missouri claimed its 15th consecutive Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletic Association crown. Victories over North Dakota State, West Texas A&M (twice) and UC Davis highlight the year. The Jennies have advanced to the Elite Eight for the third consecutive season.

Southwest Region Coach of the Year
Sharon King, UC Davis

King guided the Aggies to a 11-1 record in the Northern California Athletic Conference after finishing second with a 9-3 record in 1995. Davis defeated Grand Canyon, Northern Colorado, North Florida and Sonoma State on the year. Davis garnered its eighth trip to the NCAA tournament, before bowing out to regional-No. 1 Cal State Bakersfield in five games.

< back